Who is required to have the California Boater Card?
California passed a boating education law effective January 1, 2018 requiring all California boaters 20 years of age or younger to have the California Boater Card, and all California boaters to have one by 2025, by increasing age increments each year.
Effective January 1, 2021, all California boaters 40 years of age or younger are required to have a California Boater Card. Effective January 1 of 2022, 2023, and 2024, California Boater Cards are required for boaters of the age of 45, 50, 60 and younger, respectively. As of January 1, 2025, this applies to boaters of all ages.
Is it called the California Boater Card or the California boating license?
While it is often called a boating license in California, the correct terminology is that is the California Boater Card. This card is proof that you have successfully passed an accredited California boating safety course and can operate a boat on all state waterways.
Is there a penalty for operating a boat without the California Boater Card?
Yes, the convictions are $100, $250 and $500 for your first, second and third convictions, respectively.
Does the California Boater Card expire?
You are just 3 steps away from getting your California Boater Card
State-accredited online course for all ages
Print your Certificate of Completion
After successfully completing the online course, you’ll be able to immediately print out and save your Certificate of Completion
Apply for your California Boater Card
To obtain your California Boater Card, you will need to apply at http://californiaboatercard.com/applynow/. You will be asked to provide your Certificate of Completion, as proof that you took an educational course