Maine Boat Course
All boat operators 16 and 17 years of age must take and approve a safety education course before being able to operate a personal watercraft (PWC) without supervision.
Three steps to become a Licensed Boater
State-accredited online course for all ages
Pass The Online Exam
Print temporary license and start boating!
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the minimum age to take this course?
No, there is no minimum age to take this course
How long will it take to complete the Maine boater education course?
The course takes a minimum of 3 hours
Do I have to complete the course in one sitting?
No, you can do it over one sitting or as many sittings as you would like
Do I need to be a resident of Maine to take this course?
No, you do not need to be a resident of Maine to take this course
I failed a chapter quiz. Did I fail the Maine boater education course?
No, you did not fail the course and need to try again
What score do I need to pass chapter quizzes?
You need to score 80.00% to pass chapter quizzes
What score do I need to pass the final online exam?
You need to score 80.00% to pass the final online exam
Do you have practice questions before taking the official exam?
There are quizzes at the end of each chapter in the boater education course
Is it an open book exam?
No, it is not an open book exam
Do I have take the course before I write the exam?
Yes, you must pass the course before taking the exam
Do you have a soft copy of the materials so I can review it offline?
No, we do not the materials available offline
Is there a practical exam before I can start driving a boat or I just need the boater's education card?
Yes, you must pass (the course and) the exam before you can drive a boat
Does passing the boater education course give me a foundation to take other boating courses?
Yes, the boater education course provides a foundation for other boating courses
How do I get my temporary certificate of completion?
You can print your temporary certificate from your dashboard after logging in
What is the proof of online course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the Maine boater course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
How long is the validity of my Maine boater education card?
The Maine boater education card is good for your lifetime
Will boaters who have previously taken a boating safety course be required to take another course or test?
No, if you took a boater education course in another state or in Canada, it will be recognized in Maine
Will I ever have to renew my Maine education card?
No, you do not need to renew your boater education card. It is good for life
Does my temporary certificate allow me to operate any boat?
You can use your temporary certificate for [60 days] to operate a personal watercraft, after which you are required to have your Maine boater education card
Do I need proof of competency to operate a non-powered watercraft?
No, you do not need a proof of competency to operate a non-powered watercraft
What is acceptable proof of competency for non-residents?
Your boater education from another state or Canada is proof of competency
Is my boater education card revokable or suspendable?
Yes, your boater education card can be revokable and suspendable if laws are broken
Will there be a penalty for those who have a Maine boater education card, but do not carry it while boating?
Yes, there is a penalty for not carrying your Maine boater education card while boating
Is your Maine boater education course approved by the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife?
At this time, we are working on approval of our Maine boater education course with Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife.
Is your Maine boater education course approved by NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators)?
At this time, we are working to get approval of our Maine boater education course by NASBLA.
Is the Maine boater card accepted outside of the state?
For visting boaters, all US states, US territories, Canadian provinces, and Canadian territories will recognize boater eduation cards that meet NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements
How do I contact the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife?
The phone # is 207.592.2099 and the mailing address is 15 Game Farm Road, , Gray, Maine 04039
Price & Billing
What does the Maine boater education course cost?
The Maine boater education course costs $29.99
Is it safe to enter my credit card information?
Yes, our website is secure and it is safe to enter your credit card information
What other payment options do you have aside from debit/credit card?
Customers can using debit and credit. We do not accept Bitcoin or other digital currencies at this time
Is there an annual cost for the card?
No, there is no annual cost
How does the automatic time extension feature work?
The Maine boater course is valid for your lifetime from the time of registration and payment
What is your refund policy?
Please email us your issue or concern and we will review on a customer-by-customer basis.
Do you have an affiliate network program?
Yes, we have an affiliate program where we reward referrals. Below is the link for more information and to sign up: https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099
Do you offer referrals or any promotions?
We offer referrals through our affiliate program (https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099). We may do promotions from time to time
How do I replace my temporary Maine online course completion document if I lost or damaged it?
You can re-print your temporary card after logging into your account, assuming you passed the course and exam
How do I sign up?
Select a course and click the "Sign Up!" button
What if I forget my password?
On the Login screen, click "Lost Password?" and follow the steps
How can I change my user information?
Please email [email protected] or call 1.888.885.8830
If I log out, do I lose my progress?
No, you will not lose your progress
How many times can I log in and out of the course?
You can login as many times as you would like
Can I access the course on my mobile device?
Yes, you can access the course on a mobile phone
Can I do part of the course on desktop and part on mobile?
Yes, you can access the course from a desktop, mobile phone or tablet
What happens if I lose my internet connection while taking the exam?
If you lose your internet connection, it will take you back to the point in the course you were currently at
Will this course run on any web browser?
Yes, the course will run on any web browser
What are the system requirements in order to take the exam online?
You can take the exam on any computer that has an internet connection and a browser
What is required to play the videos in the course?
There are no videos in the course
Moving to Maine
I have a question that is not answered above. What do I do?
If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact us directly at [email protected] or by phone @ 1.888.885.8830
What are your hours of operation?
Our hours of operation are 9am-midnight EST
Why should I choose BoatTests101.com?
We offer an official online boat course to get your boater card, which is accredited by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA), the US Coast Guard Auxiliary and the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
Can I help to teach the boater education course?
Please email [email protected]
How can I apply to work at your company?
Please check out our job postings or email [email protected]