New York Boat Course

All boaters born on or after May 1, 1996 are required to complete an approved boater education course to operate a watercraft

Approved by New York Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation

The minimum age to take the course is 10 and you do not need to be a resident of the state. Pass the course and be certified for life!

Three steps to become a Licensed Boater

1

Complete Course

State-accredited online course for all ages

2

Pass The Online Exam

Unlimited re-tries

image of boating licence card front 3

Go Boating

Print temporary license and start boating!

Enjoy Two Weeks Free

Join the Wavve Boating Community

Frequently Asked Questions

Course

You must be 14 years of age or older and must pass a boating safety education course before you are allowed to operate a watercraft in New York.

Certification

No this is just a certificate that proves that you have taken a boating safety course and passed the exam.

Course Accreditation

Yes, our New York boater education course is approved by the New York Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation

Price & Billing

The New York boater education course costs $29.99

Replacement Documents

You can re-print your temporary card after logging into your account, assuming you passed the course and exam

Account

Select a course and click the "Sign Up!" button

IT

Yes, you can access the course on a mobile phone

Moving to New York

Yes, provided it was issued from your current state of residence, and the course was approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators. Look for the NASBLA logo on your certificate.

General

If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact us directly at [email protected] or by phone @ 1.888.885.8830