North Carolina Boat Course


All residents born on or after January 1, 1988 must have a North Carolina Boater Education Card to operate a motorized watercraft of 10 HP or more.

Returning user? Sign in here

Approved by North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission

There is no minimum age to take the course and you do not need to be a resident of the state. Pass the course and be certified for life!


You are just three steps away from getting a license

online boat course

Complete Course

State-accredited online course for all ages

online boater exam

Pass The Online Exam

Unlimited re-tries

temp boater license

Go Boating

Print temporary license and start boating!

FAQs


Course

+

In North Carolina, all residents 14 years of age or older must take boaters safety courses to drive personalized watercraft (PWC). However, drivers older than 14 may operate water vessels without taking an education course if they are under a valid supervisor.

+

Persons age 14 years of age may not operate a PWC legally.

Persons 14 or 15 years of age may operate PWC only if:

He or she is being accompanied on board the PWC by a person who is at least 17 years old and who is in compliance with the requirements for operating a vessel or he or she has on his or her own ID and a boating certification card approved by NASBLA and accepted by North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission or other boating safety education that is compliance with the state laws.

Anyone 16 years of age or older and born on or after January 1, 1988 may operate a PWC with motor of 10 horsepower or greater only if he or she is in compliance with the requirements in operating.

+

In North Carolina, all residents 14 years of age or older must take boaters safety courses to drive personalized watercraft (PWC). However, drivers older than 14 may operate water vessels without taking an education course if they are under a valid supervisor.

+
No, there is no minimum age to take this course
+
No, you can do it over one sitting or as many sittings as you would like
+
No, you do not need to be a resident of North Carolina to take this course
+
No, you did not fail the course and need to try again
+
You need to score 80.00% to pass chapter quizzes
+

There are 60 questions in the final exam.

+
You need to score 80.00% to pass the final online exam
+
There are quizzes at the end of each chapter in the boater education course
+
No, it is not an open book exam
+
Yes, you must pass the course before taking the exam
+
No, we do not the materials available offline
+
Yes, you must pass (the course and) the exam before you can drive a boat
+
Yes, the boater education course provides a foundation for other boating courses

Certification

+

It is a boating safety education certificate and not a license.

+

Your boater card will be mailed to you 2 to 3 weeks after completion of the course and exam.

+
You can print your temporary certificate from your dashboard after logging in
+
Once you pass and pay for the North Carolina boater course, you will be able to immediately print out the Certificate of Completion. This is your proof of online course completion. You can print the Certificate of Completion right then, and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
+
The North Carolina boater education card is good for your lifetime
+
No, if you took a boater education course in another state or in Canada, it will be recognized in North Carolina
+
No, you do not need to renew your boater education card. It is good for life
+
You can use your temporary certificate for [60 days] to operate a personal watercraft, after which you are required to have your North Carolina boater education card
+

North Carolina law requires any person born on or after January 1, 1988, who will be operating a vessel over 10 hp to pass a boater safety course and to carry a boater education card.

+
No, you do not need a proof of competency to operate a non-powered watercraft
+
Your boater education from another state or Canada is proof of competency
+
Yes, your boater education card can be revokable and suspendable if laws are broken
+
Yes, there is a penalty for not carrying your North Carolina boater education card while boating

Course Accreditation

+
Yes, our North Carolina boater education course is approved by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
+
For visting boaters, all US states, US territories, Canadian provinces, and Canadian territories will recognize boater eduation cards that meet NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada's requirements
+
The phone # is 919.707.0032 and the mailing address is 1717 Mail Service Center, , Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-1717

Price & Billing

+
The North Carolina boater education course costs $24.99
+
Yes, our website is secure and it is safe to enter your credit card information
+
Customers can using debit and credit. We do not accept Bitcoin or other digital currencies at this time
+
No, there is no annual cost
+
The North Carolina boater course is valid for your lifetime from the time of registration and payment
+
Please email us your issur or concern and we will review on a customer-by-customer basis
+
Yes, we have an affiliate program where we reward referrals. Below is the link for more information and to sign up: https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099
+
We offer referrals through our affiliate program (https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099). We may do promotions from time to time

Replacement Documents

Account

+
Select a course and click the "Sign Up!" button
+
On the Login screen, click "Lost Password?" and follow the steps
+
Please email [email protected] or call 1.888.885.8830
+
No, you will not lose your progress
+
You can login as many times as you would like

IT

+
Yes, you can access the course on a mobile phone
+
Yes, you can access the course from a desktop, mobile phone or tablet
+
If you lose your internet connection, it will take you back to the point in the course you were currently at
+
Yes, the course will run on any web browser
+
You can take the exam on any computer that has an internet connection and a browser
+
There are no videos in the course

Moving to North Carolina

General

+
If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact us directly at [email protected] or by phone @ 1.888.885.8830
+
Our hours of operation are 9am-midnight EST
+
We offer an official online boat course to get your boater card, which is accredited by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA), the US Coast Guard Auxiliary and the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
+
Please check out our job postings or email [email protected]

Ready? Get Certified Today!

Need help? Talk to us!

Call us: 1-888-885-8830
Email: [email protected]

Mon to Fri: 9am to Midnight (EST)
Sat to Sun: 9am to Midnight (EST)

© 2021 Monologix, Inc. All rights reserved.