Tennessee Boat Course Boater Education at Boattests101.com

We'll be launching this course soon!

Please leave your email address and details, and we will be in touch as we get closer to our launch

FAQs


Course

+

Only those born on or before January 1, 1989 are permitted to take the online course and the exam in order to be certified.

+

The course takes a minimum of 3 hours to complete, This minimum does not include time spent working through quizzes, re-review of prior material, and it does not include the time required to take a final comprehensive exam.

+

The purpose of the course is boater education. There is no rush to complete the course. You can complete the course in one sitting, or as many as you would like.

+
No, you do not need to be a resident of Tennessee to take this course
+

No, you did not fail the course. You will simply need to review the material for that particular chapter, and try the quiz again. Once you do pass the end of chapter quiz, you will be able to move on to the next quiz.

+

You need to score at least 80.00% to pass chapter quizzes until you can move on to the next chapter. If you fail a chapter quiz, you can review the chapter material, and try again until you pass.

+
You need to score 80.00% to pass the final online exam
+

There are quizzes at the end of each chapter in the boater education course to help you practice before the final exam.

+
No, it is not an open book exam
+

Yes, taking the course before taking the exam is mandatory. The idea behind the course is to educate. You need to cover and learn all material in the course before you write the exam. 

+

No, we do not offer study materials pertaining to the Tennessee boater education course at this time.

+

Yes, you must take a practical exam before you can start driving a boat in Tennessee. You must be at least 12 years old to take the exam. After studying the course material, you must purchase a Type 600 boating safety exam permit and get it validated upon passing the exam. 

+
Yes, the boater education course provides a foundation for other boating courses

Certification

+

You will need the Type 600 boating safety exam permit that you can buy from any license agent  that sells hunting and fishing licenses (i.e. marinas, sporting goods stores, etc.).  

You will then take this permit to the exam centre, and it will be validated when you pass the exam and will act as your temporary certification until the permanent card is mailed to you.

+
The Tennessee boater education card is good for your lifetime
+

As long as the previous boating safety course is recognized by NASBLA, you will not be required to take another boating safety course.

+
No, you do not need to renew your boater education card. It is good for life
+

You can use your validated Type 600 permit to operate a personal watercraft. After receipt in the mail of the Tennessee boater education card, you should use that.

+
No, you do not need a proof of competency to operate a non-powered watercraft
+

If you were born after January 1, 1989, TWRA will accept boater education certigicates from another state or Canada as proof of competency as long as the course is a NASBLA approved course.

+
Yes, your boater education card can be revokable and suspendable if laws are broken

Course Accreditation

+

At this time, we are seeking approval of our Tennessee boater education course with Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency and do not offer a course in Tennessee.

+

At this time, we are seeking approval of our Tennessee boater education course with Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency and do not offer a course in Tennessee.

+

For those travelling outside of Tennessee, many US states, US territories, Canadian provinces, and Canadian territories will recognize boater eduation cards that meet NASBLA (National Association of State Boating Law Administrators) and Transport Canada's Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards requirements. You should reach out to the state body to confirm that your card is accepted in the state you are visiting. 

+
The phone # is 615.781.6500 and the mailing address is PO Box 40747, , Nashville, Tennessee 37204

Price & Billing

+
No, there is no annual cost
+
The Tennessee boater course is valid for your lifetime from the time of registration and payment
+
Yes, we have an affiliate program where we reward referrals. Below is the link for more information and to sign up: https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099
+
We offer referrals through our affiliate program (https://www.shareasale.com/shareasale.cfm?merchantID=57099). We may do promotions from time to time

Replacement Documents

Account

IT

Moving to Tennessee

General

+

If you cannot find the answer to your question, please contact us directly at [email protected] or by phone @ 1.888.885.8830

+
Our hours of operation are 9am-midnight EST
+
Please check out our job postings or email [email protected]

Ready? Get Certified Today!